#14 – Robert Plant & Allison Krauss – “Killing the Blues” – (2007)

I know I said that the top 20 or so songs were all major hits and really obvious, big-time players in the “Top Songs” arena… well this is my one exception. It was not a big radio hit. It did win a Grammy and I remember watching the Grammy ceremony that night on TV – I was ecstatic that this collaborative album – Raising Sand – won Album of the Year. Let’s take a step back and look at how bizarre this is: Robert Plant, lead singer of Led Zeppelin, teams up with Allison Krauss – a vocalist and fiddle player known for her bluegrass and country music and they – with the brilliant help of T-Bone Burnett – produce a folk rock album with heavy emphasis on Americana. The likelihood of these things working out? A million to one. But this is that one and it is amazing. This is my favorite song from the album. Give it a try.

