#81 – R. Kelly – “Ignition (Remix)” – (2003)

Before we get to R. Kelly, I want to say something real quick: Lady Gaga does not appear on this list. “Bad Romance” probably would have, but I featured it elsewhere. Oh well. Now: “Ignition.” This is one of my favorite hip-hop (yeah, it’s R&B, I know but it’s close enough to hip-hop for me to call it hip-hop) songs ever – I can sing most of the lyrics. It’s R. Kelly’s best song he’s ever done. “So baby give me that toot, toot!”… “It’s the remix to ignition – hot and fresh out the kitchen. Mama rollin’ that body got every man in here wishin’. Sippin’ on Coke and rum – I’m like ‘So what? I’m drunk.’ It’s the freakin’ weekend baby I’m about to have me some fun.” This went all the way to #2 on the Hot 100 and rightfully so (considering the Hot 100 during the 2000s was almost dominated by hip-hop).

