#91 – Britney Spears – “Oops!… I Did It Again” – (2000)

“Oops!” was the title song from Britney’s second album, which was released six months into the new millennium. I guess it was supposed to be a new, grown-up Britney but it really wasn’t. It was more of a transition from teen idol to her, umm, sluttier days. All of it pre-crazy, of course. What I kind of like about this song is it is nearly a mirror to her first single, “…Baby One More Time.” Let’s look at the commonalities. 1: Lead single from an album. 2: Ellipsis. 3: They both start with their own signature pounding notes (“Baby” had three, “Oops” has only two). And don’t forget the friggen title: she’s saying that she’s “doing it again,” with ‘it’ being released a giant pop smash. Then there’s the whole “I’m not that innocent” thing that really is her saying “Hey, stop calling me a princess! I can be nasty! Wait till my next album!” Anyway, I remember watching the Making The Video for this song, so I guess that makes it significant. Plus, Britney was a fixture for the 2000s: in musical ways and in other ways.

