#98 – Five for Fighting – “Superman (It’s Not Easy)” – (2000)

I don’t want to sound mean, but it’s hard not to make note that a terrorist attack really made the career of John Ondrasik – the guy who uses “Five for Fighting” as his stage name. The album, America Town, was released in the second half of 2000. “Superman” was a single released in April of 2000. It really gathered zero attention – until 9/11 when the song reached near-anthem status surrounding everything happening in New York. The song shot up the charts in the weeks following the attacks (I’m not sure who gave the song its break but it definitely happened). It hit #15 on the Hot 100 and has kind of been an Adult Contemporary staple ever since. I’m not a huge fan, but I recognize its importance as a cultural milestone (that’s right) and I’ve tried to escape this song (and subsequent singles from Ondrasik) but just can’t.

