#11 – Incubus – “Drive” – (1999)

When I went to check my list to write this post, I thought I had made a mistake. I could’ve sworn this song was in the top 25 of our Top 200 Songs of the 90s countdown. But it wasn’t – so in that regard, I had made a mistake (I think it was actually left off that list because, although Make Yourself was released in 1999, “Drive” wasn’t released as a single until 2000). Either way, this song is amazing. This was a top ten on the Hot 100 and Mainstream Rock chart as well as a #1 on the Modern Rock chart. I like songs from Incubus from before this album, and after. But nothing they’ve done matches this, as far as I’m concerned. It’s mellow and not overly heavy but I think that is to its advantage. “Would you choose water over wine? Hold the wheel and drive.” These wonderfully delivered lyrics by Brandon Boyd really help make the song and give it the relaxed vibe that it has.

