#2 – Aerosmith – “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” – (1987)

I just realized that three of the top five songs on this countdown were from 1987… as if that was some kind of high-water mark in rock music. I don’t think that’s it, but it was still a pretty good year. This song was a very important part to Aerosmith’s career – it marked their comeback from the brink that they teetered on for most of the 80s. Yeah, Run-DMC helped them out somewhat but this was them on their own. And this was the first single from “Permanent Vacation” and while it only barely cracked the Top 15 on the Hot 100, it was still a huge hit that receives regular airplay today. It’s one of those songs that everybody knows and Steven Tyler’s inspired lyric delivery is certainly not a hindrance. What’s it really about? I don’t know, but if you caught Steven Tyler’s appearance on American Idol this past season, I think I have an idea…

